North Carolina Concealed Carry Laws

 Firearms Training By Elrod

photo Correctional facility or Prison

Correctional facility or Prison

Ang law enforcement or correctional facility, to include state, county, municipality, university police, or company police [N.C.G.S. 14-415.11]

North Carolina General Statutes ยง 14-415.11

Permit to carry concealed handgun; scope of permit

(a) Any person who has a concealed handgun permit may carry a concealed handgun unless otherwise specifically prohibited by law. The person shall carry the permit together with valid identification whenever the person is carrying a concealed handgun, shall disclose to any law enforcement officer that the person holds a valid permit and is carrying a concealed handgun when approached or addressed by the officer, and shall display both the permit and the proper identification upon the request of a law enforcement officer. In addition to these requirements, a military permittee whose permit has expired during deployment may carry a concealed handgun during the 90 days following the end of deployment and before the permit is renewed provided the permittee also displays proof of deployment to any law enforcement officer.

(b) The sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to a person who qualifies for a permit under G.S. 14-415.12. The permit shall be valid throughout the State for a period of five years from the date of issuance.

(c) Except as provided in G.S. 14-415.27, a permit does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun in any of the following:

(1) Areas prohibited by G.S. 14-269.2, 14-269.3, and 14-277.2.

(2) Areas prohibited by G.S. 14-269.4, except as allowed under G.S. 14-269.4(6).

(3) In an area prohibited by rule adopted under G.S. 120-32.1.

(4) In any area prohibited by 18 U.S.C. 922 or any other federal law.

(5) In a law enforcement or correctional facility.

(6) In a building housing only State or federal offices.

(7) In an office of the State or federal government that is not located in a building exclusively occupied by the State or federal government.

(8) On any private premises where notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited by the posting of a conspicuous notice or statement by the person in legal possession or control of the premises.

(c1) Any person who has a concealed handgun permit may carry a concealed handgun on the grounds or waters of a park within the State Parks System as defined in G.S. 113-44.9.

(c2) It shall be unlawful for a person, with or without a permit, to carry a concealed handgun while consuming alcohol or at any time while the person has remaining in the person's body any alcohol or in the person's blood a controlled substance previously consumed, but a person does not violate this condition if a controlled substance in the person's blood was lawfully obtained and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts or if the person is on the person's own property.

(c3) As provided in G.S. 14-269.4(5), it shall be lawful for a person to carry any firearm openly, or to carry a concealed handgun with a concealed carry permit, at any State-owned rest area, at any State-owned rest stop along the highways, and at any State-owned hunting and fishing reservation.

(d) A person who is issued a permit shall notify the sheriff who issued the permit of any change in the person's permanent address within 30 days after the change of address. If a permit is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the permit was issued shall notify the sheriff who issued the permit of the loss or destruction of the permit. A person may obtain a duplicate permit by submitting to the sheriff a notarized statement that the permit was lost or destroyed and paying the required duplicate permit fee. (1995, c. 398, s. 1; c. 507, s. 22.1(c); c. 509, s. 135.3(e); 1997, c. 238, s. 6; 2000-140, s. 103; 2000-191, s. 5; 2005-232, s. 3; 2011-268, s. 14.)

North Carolina Concealed Handgun Carry LawNOTE: The information concerning North Carolina Concealed Carry Law is to be considered for reference only. 

We are not lawyers.  We are not providing legal advice.

Use the information on our website at your own risk.  We expressly disclaim any liability for the accuracy of any information on our website.

We are not lawyers.  We are not providing legal advice.

NC Concealed Carry Laws recommends that you consult a qualified North Carolina lawyer if you have questions.


Firearms Training
by Elrod
Concealed Carry

“This class was very informational. I think before citizens are able to purchase a firearm they should be required to take this class. By being in this class I was able to learn my rights as a firearm owning citizen.

The class was perfect, it included an instructional video and there was material available for hands on learning. The instructors were very involved and really cared that you were able to understand the materials covered in the classroom. The instructors used real life scenarios that helped class retain material.”
Rodney Reddick

“This class is a very good class. It help me learn a lot of stuff, like safely. I feel good about this class.”
Shane Howell

“This class is great for the understanding and confidence in using a handgun. The instruction of the class helps you determine when and what you need to do in case any situation arises. As far as things to do better for the class, I would say keep everything the same. All points were explained as needed and were given opportunity to ask and get questions answered.”
Anthony Floyd